Enjoy wonderfully authentic food and ambiance in the main
dining room, casual bar or the warm inviting patio. Leone D'Arcangelo
and his family look forward to welcoming you to the restaurant.
264 Carlsbad Village Dr, Carlsbad CA 92008 Phone: 760.720.3737

5256 S. Mission Road, Bonsall CA 92003, Phone: 760-631-1944

Join our Fresco Rewards

Testimonials
Paul
21-06-2011
This restaurant is amazing the food is authentic and the portions are delicious , I give this 5 stars and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fine Italian food.
Ralph
25-08-2011
Great meal and beautiful ambiance, very friendly.
Kirk
27-10-2011
Took my wife out for her birthday and the staff, particular our server, ensured the evening went perfect. Friendly and fast service, knowledgable about the food and based on our reactions and feedback made suggestions on food we would like. The food was excellent, and I would reccomend the Shrimp Bisque, best I have eaten. I will definately be going back again and again to try the rest of the menu items...
Lynne Reich
11-08-2011
After many visits to Carlsbad over many years, we recently visited Fresco for the first time. Wow. Every aspect of this restaurant (ambiance, service, food, wine, and price) suited us to a tee. They offer small portions of all their menu dishes, which permitted us to try a variety of selections. Each dish was exquisitely prepared, with fresh, flavorful ingredients, and reminded us of meals we have enjoyed in Italy. We loved it and cannot wait to come back!
Lisa
06-08-2011
This was our fist visit as we are newcomers to the area- we have found our new favorite restaurant! exquisite food, exceptional service by vaughn. His passion and knowledge of the food radiates and he turned a normal meal out into a beautiful cultural experience.
Joe and Laurie
23-04-2012
My wife and I enjoyed Sunday Champagne Buffet in Bonsal yesterday. Our first visit to this restaurant. What a great experience. Food was beyond excellent (what a surprise for a small town restaurant), staff was friendly and the price was perfect. I've paid three times what we paid for and received much less at other places. My wife and I will be back and we highly recommend. Thank you.
Valerie Lindholm
19-06-2012
We have eaten here many of times and every entree we've ever had was amazing! We are so blessed to have a traditional Italian Restaurant in Carlsbad that uses the freshest and highest quality of meats, fish and vegetables in all their dishes. You have to try their Veal Chop special or their rack of lamb which is to die for!
Sawin Family; Bob, Laurie, Trip & Christina
06-07-2012
This was our first dining experience with you and we will definitely be returning. Daniel, our principal waiter, was excellent in communicating the menu and specials of the evening. The adjunct staff were impeccable with swift, pleasant service. The four of us had a varied menu; pizza margherita, salad toscana, linguini diablo del mar and the most amazing halibut/crab special. We finished with creme brulee. There was no detail missed in the preparation and presentation of our meal. The sauces were off the charts in flavor and surprised the palate with new and exciting combinations. The atmosphere was beautiful and relaxed. We enjoyed meeting and sharing conversation with the owner, Leone. His passion for bringing Carlsbad a beautiful, authentic Italian dining experience has no equal in all of San Diego County as far as we are concerned. Laurie has plans to bring her Italian relatives to dine in the near future. We have found our new favorite restaurant and will be sure to be regulars. And the bonus for us is we need only travel five minutes from home! Thank you for a charming, gracious experience on a very busy Friday evening and for the last-minute reservation request. Highest Regards, The Sawin Family Bob, Laurie, Trip & Christina
Kevin Maser
16-07-2012
Leone and his staff, including the amazing Manny, just hosted a surprise Birthday Party in Bonsall. EVERYONE loved the food, all guests served at the same time, not always easy to do. Thanks again to everyone!
Rick and Jim
17-07-2012
We've been going by reviews and ' happy hours ' around the North Coast area to figure out where it's good to eat, so many choices for the 'newly arrived', we have added Fresco Bonsall as a place to return to--and it's right down the road for us ! We were very pleased with everything and will definitely be back to support this restaurant that is well above average. Can't wait to do brunch, it's a place to go for any 'occasion', the 4-6pm happy hour was perfect for sampling a bunch of different things. Presentations, quality of ingredients, staff and pricing were all terrific at this restaurant, we enjoyed it. They use Basil, and parsley, Thank Goodness, not Oregano, for those who prefer it. Plenty of wine to pick from, set linen tables, clean and comfortable, nice full bar. They have two restaurants but this is not chain food, or the ' paste and jarred garlic with oregano to 'call it Italian '’ kind. Proper marinara, vodka sauce, fresh tomato broths, very good.
Mary E. Howe
13-08-2012
I have tried all day to purchase a gift card and haven't had any luck. I put in the info and hit submit and everything gets wiped out. I'm very discouraged.
Angie Spagnuolo Schmidt
14-08-2012
We have dined here many times. The food is absolutely delicious and the service excellent and extremely professional. Leone, takes pride in the food, the service and making certain that the customer is satisfied.
Mark and Sheri Johnson
08-10-2012
We want to thank the Fresco's staff for a wonderful anniversary dinner last Saturday evening. The food,wine and service were outstanding. Thank you Leone for the bruschetta! :-)
Randi Clark
25-10-2012
Leone assisted us with our wedding rehearsal dinner at the Carlsbad location. The food, wine, ambiance, service, and atmosphere was perfect! Everyone had a wonderful time and all raved about the menu. THANK YOU LEONE! I can't say enough about our experiences here and we'll continue to come back and share with our family and friends.
Patricia D.
10-03-2013
I gave my husband a surprise birthday party last night at Fresco Trattoria. We had approximately 42 family members and close friends. Everyone, and I do mean EVERYONE, was impressed with the food, service, beautiful room, and overall attention to detail. Linda helped me with the menu, the room arrangement, wine, etc. It could not have been a more perfect evening. Our family members all came down from LA. They are used to eating in the best restaurants in Los Angeles and all of them said Fresco Trattoria was "5 Star". Thank you Linda and Leone for a perfect evening!!!
M.Nitti
02-05-2013
Fresco is the best! Leone is a wonderful host and always presents the best service. The quality of the food and wine is first class and the location along with the atmosphere is truly relaxing. We have been dinning at Fresco for years and we look forward to our next experience. Leone, grazie infinite, grazie molte!!
The Wold Family from Davis, CA
29-05-2013
We were out-of-towners looking for a nice place for dinner. Took my wife, kids (8 and 12), and in-laws for dinner at Fresco and our dinner really exceeded our expecations. Service was excellent, food quality and flavor were outstanding. We ordered a variety of dishes from pizza to salad to seafood and everyone was quite pleased. We look forward to going back to Carlsbad and dining at Fresco's.
sergio
25-08-2013
this place is amazing im italian and finally i find a real italian restaurant with original italians recepies!! yeppaaaa!!! i love it!!!
Jacob
03-11-2013
My wife and I had our wedding reception at Fresco's in Carlsbad. it was wonderful. Leoni made sure our event was perfect down to every detail. The food was, as usual, to die for. And the setting was so intimate and family orientated. Thank you so much for helping us make our day so wonderful!
Lisa
24-03-2014
My husband and I just dined at Fresco's this past Saturday night. We arrived and were greeted promptly. We sat in the booth we usually sit in and both ordered the Paglia e Fieno. It was amazing. Everything was excellent. The scallops were tender, the shrimp also, and the sauce was incredible. We both finished most of our plates. We left some behind and regretted not boxing it up to dip some bread into it after we arrived home. If I had a choice of 1-5 stars, it was definetly a five star meal. We will be coming back again for sure. Thank you for a wonderful evening. Lisa
Chris and Valerie
03-05-2014
We came to Carlsbad for our honeymoon. Fresco had an amazing smell of garlic that we could smell at the place we were staying. The service was outstanding and the food was amazing! So far we've been there twice and there has not been anything we've been unhappy with. We will definitely be back before we head back to Colorado!
William Higginbotham
31-05-2014
Enjoyed a great meal, beautifully prepared with wonderful flavors. The Brodetto appetizer very nice, very fresh and well presented. Veal that can be cut with a fork is always proof of a great person in the kitchen, and this place has a great one in the kitchen. All the extras you expect in a great Italian resturant are all there, thank you for a nice evening
Sheri Ellard
04-09-2014
A friend and I were in Carlsbad visiting my daughter. We wanted to go somewhere special. We hit the mark with Fresco. Everything was beautiful from the time we walked in the door. Our meals were flavorful and the ambiance was out of this world. We felt as though we were transported to Italy. We will all be back.
Gwen
06-11-2014
We recently hosted our son's wedding rehearsal dinner for 45-guests at Fresco and were overly impressed by not only its convenient location and romantic Italian ambiance, but by its exceptional service and staff as well; owners Leone and Linda were wonderfully accommodating and saw to our every request ~ Our guests continued to rave the entire weekend about our delicious and beautifully prepared meal—entrée was choice of grilled filet mignon or fresh Atlantic salmon ~ When in the Carlsbad area, dinner at Fresco should definitely be on your agenda!
Terri
21-12-2014
After living in nearby Fallbrook for 14 years, we finally decided to try FRESCO GRILL instead of driving to Temecula for dinner. The food at Fresco is OUTSTANDING, but equally impressive was the live music by musician "Ron". His music is quite beautiful and a truly relaxing way to enjoy a special dinner out. "Ron" gave us another reason to again try this great food.... but not before confirming that he will be there on our next visit!
Wolfgang and Danietta Schimansky
07-08-2015
Having been all over Italy and loving the food, we could not believe finding a magnificent restaurant here in Bonsall, offering not only a good variety of fantastic dishes but a failsafe selection, where every choice is right! We have been here now 10 times and found it consistently a pleasure, a warm atmosphere, with professional service! It all emanates from the passion of the gastronome extra- ordinaire - the boss with a big heart, Leone D'arcangelo! Service flows quickly and quietly as demonstrated flawlessly by Joel and Andrea. We love them both! We are recommending FRESCO Trattoria to all our friends and try to enjoy this wonderful feast every week! Keep feeding us with love, we truly appreciate you! We wish you continuous great success and will support you any way we can! Wolfgang and Danietta
Lisa
25-09-2015
My boyfriend and I dined at Fresco, Carlsbad last week and were blown away by the high quality of food and service (thanks Emily!). We shared the pork special - very generous portions! We were even treated to canolli's for desert. I'm a canolli snob from Boston and can honestly say they were amazing! Can't wait to come back.
Pamela Smith
06-11-2015
We had a birthday party with 30 people in the gorgeous back room in Carlsbad, and guests absolutely raved about it. The salmon was excellent, and the service was impeccable. The room itself is cozy and chic, with the bar and stylish kitchen on two sides, and lots of windows and stone. The catering consultant Linda was wonderful to work with, and all the staff really cared about our happiness. Parking is easy with their own lot in busy downtown Carlsbad. The prices were right in line with the service and food. I will definitely be hosting future gatherings at Fresco in Carlsbad, and recommend it highly.
Cherie
27-01-2016
Wonderful & charming! Emily our server was absolutely fabulous! Had the most AMAZING lobster bisque ever! Linda the owner was warm and gracious - I highly recommend Fresco!
Deborah Stewart
06-07-2016
One of the best meals OF MY LIFE. I had salad with anchovies and the antipasto. Amazing... Italian beer and excellent service... Bravo!
Terry
04-09-2016
We have been coming to Carlsbad for years. We always walk past Fresco to Jay's or Gregorio's. They are good, but tonight we ordered take-out from Fresco and it was awesome!!!!!! The grilled salmon Caesar was a generous portion and grilled and seasoned to perfection. My husband had the shrimp bisque and we both loved that too. We are here for a few more days and are looking forward to dining in. Thank you for a delicious meal!
Rachel
05-05-2017
Bravo! I went to Fresco last Sunday afternoon. We had the absolute best time, best service and food! The wait staff was professional, prompt, friendly and courteous. The food was excellent as was the wine. I honestly felt like I was in a friend's home. I could tell there were regulars there because of how the guests interacted with the staff. It was refreshing. That is a great sign of a great place. The music is GREAT. The duo that plays will have you dancing in your chair. That is what kept us there beyond our lunch! Check this place out. Meet the owner. This will become your "go-to" restaurant for sure!
Send us feedback
Name:
Email:
Organization:
Feedback
   
Untitled Document
Make A Reservation
 
Select your Restaurant
 
Testimonials

Bravo! I went to Fresco last Sunday afternoon. We had the absolute best time, best service and food! The wait staff was professional, prompt, friendly and courteous. The food was excellent as was the wine. I honestly felt like I was in a friend's home. I could tell there were regulars there because of how the guests interacted with the staff. It was refreshing. That is a great sign of a great place. The music is GREAT. The duo that plays will have you dancing in your chair. That is what kept us there beyond our lunch! Check this place out. Meet the owner. This will become your "go-to" restaurant for sure!
05-05-2017 Rachel
More...
Gift Cards
Now selling gift cards online.

 
Welcome To Fresco